The post contains answer to questions “How many religions are there in India? What is the national religion of India? There are how many religions in India?”

How many religions are there in India?

In India major religions are Hinduism, Islam, Christianity and Sikhism. Other small religions include Buddhism, Jainism, Zoroastrianism (Parsis), Sanamahism, Judaism and Baha’I faith. This means that there are about ten, more or less, religions in India.

 The 2011, census shows that the country has 79.8% Hindu population, 14.2% Muslims, 2.3% Christians and 1.7% Sikh population. India is the birth place of some of world’s largest religions such as Sikhism, Buddhism and Jainism.

India is secular state with no official religion as per state constitution however the recent developments taken by Prime Minister Narendra Modi government shows that the state is moving towards Hinduism being an official religion.

Source: Above answer is based on information given in India 2011 census report.

Related Questions